17 Most Common Life Regrets on the Death Bed

The one things which we hear and read at least once is: We all are going to die someday!!! 

No matter how dramatic that line may appear, it is the universal truth. If you ask me, I see it as we all are getting closer to our death with each passing moment. We never know what might be our last day or night or moment on this planet which we call our home, but the truth is that it is not even the most interesting thing.

The most interesting things are the ones after which we keep running. We spend our whole life thinking about unnecessary things and in the end, we all end up regretting one thing or another when we are on our death bed. But as it is obvious, it gets too late to do anything about it.

We all have some regrets in our lives but have you ever wondered what are the most common ones? Here are the 17 most common life regrets at the death bed. See if you can avoid any or all of them.I wish I had not cared about what others think/want of me.

Note: This list is not in any particular order and has been compiled after going through a lot of personal experiences shared by people on the popular question and answer website Quora.

1) I wish I had not cared about what others think/want of me.

No matter what we wear, eat, drink, career, life choices, and much more. We keep thinking about what someone would think about us and end up doing the things which we never wanted to do in the first place. It is on the death bed that we realize that no one really cared about what we did.

2) I wish I had told “the one” about my true feelings.

We all fall for someone who we think as “the one” for us and regardless of having them as our partner or not, many of us don’t express our true feelings. End result: We end up thinking “what if I had” and trust me, it is one of the hardest questions to answer, even for yourself.

3) I wish I had followed by passion/dreams.

This one is not really hard to guess or think about. There are tons of people who have this regret at the end of their life. So, follow your passion and chase your dreams.

4) I wish my last conversation with that person had not been an argument/fight.

As I mentioned in the beginning that we never know when we might die. The same holds true for the people around you and you never know when you might lose someone you love deeply or the one who loves you the same way. And this is the reason for this regret.

5) I wish I had lived in the present and worried less.

We all keep worrying about the future and what will happen next. There is nothing wrong in planning things but it is completely wrong to overthink things and make them overcomplicated. But many of us do the same thing and thus, we are neither able to live/enjoy the present properly nor the future.

6) I wish I had been less busy.

A standard rule of measuring someone’s success in life is to see where do they stand in the professional world. We look at their position, salary, bank balance, and lifestyle. But the truth is all of these are just a part of life and can never give you the true happiness. So, take out time for your family and loved ones because when you are on the death bed, none of those accomplishments will matter.

7) I wish I had traveled and seen the world.

There are millions of people who born, grow up, live, and die at the very same place without even seeing what the world is like outside. So, take time out of your schedule and go travel. I am not asking you to go on a World Tour but, at least, go out and see your neighbor states and places.

8) I wish I had trusted my intuition/gut feeling instead of listening to others.

We all face various situations where we are not able to decide what to do. Our intuition/gut feeling tells us to do one thing and the ones near us or the real world tells us do exactly opposite. And most of the time, we end up following the people and the word which eventually ends in one more regret for you think about while dying.

9) I wish I had taken risks.

It is true that most of us want to live in our comfort zone and don’t even want to try anything outside of it. But that’s what makes all the difference in your life. Ask anyone who has lived a happy life, he will tell you that the only thing which set him apart from the rest is that he took risks when others simply back out. So, take risks, go on adventures and feel the difference in your life.

10) I wish I had appreciated “someone” more.

Here “someone” can be anything, your significant other, your family member or anything. But the main thing to notice here is that we all take things for granted and never appreciate what we have. And we realize these things only when either we are on the verge of losing that “someone” or had lost it. So, show appreciation for the “someone” around you before it is too late.

11) I wish I could have been happier.

We all have a different definition of happiness but the common thing is that we never really focus on it. We let ourselves get lost in thousands of other things and mostly the temporary things that we lose the things which will give us happiness in the longer run.

12) I wish I had not compared myself to others.

This is one of the most common things we all do. We always keep comparing ourselves to others like our parents, family, friends, and society. Do remember that we all are different and we all have different goals. So, stop comparing yourself with others and spend time with the ones who believe in what you do and think.

13) I wish I had taken the step when it was needed.

This is a common fear we all share. We are afraid of taking steps and keep thinking that what we won’t get what we want and things will get completely opposite. But as they say, the answer is always NO unless you ask. So, it is possible that you might have to travel a lot but you can never reach the destination unless you dare to take the first step.

14) I wish I had kept going.

There are many of us who dare to take the first step but we end up quitting after walking for a mile either because of having a feeling that we will never make it to the destination or because of the distractions. But you need to remember that taking the first step is as important as keep going and staying focused. And you also need to know that road to happiness is never easy, you have to go through a lot of pain and obstacles to prove that you are worth it.

15) I wish I had told my partner how much I love him/her.

One major problem with the majority of us is that we all want to get love and appreciated but we fail to do the same for our partners. We prefer to keep our emotions to ourselves for one reason to another. We don’t see anything wrong in it unless we are about to lose our partner. So, take time and tell your partner how much you love them. It will not only help you in avoiding one more regret but also make your relationship get stronger.

16) I wish I had shown more confidence in myself.

Another common thing among us is that we don’t really feel confident about our abilities and ourselves. We always measure ourselves by thinking what will others think of us. Instead, you should do what you want to do.

17) I wish I had lived with better people.

It is an unarguable fact that we end up having the same thinking which is among the people surrounding us. And this is one of the worst mistakes you can make. So, be around the people who bring positivity, who inspire you to do better things even if they are way difficult for you. Be with the people who will challenge and motivate you to grow, not influence you to negativity.

Now, you know what are the most common life regrets on the death bed. I don’t plan to having any of those regrets on my death bed, what about you? Do you have any of these life regrets or you think you might be having as you will grow old? Share your views with me using the comments section below. If you have anything else to say or add to this post, you use the comments section even for that. I would love to hear from you 🙂

Image Credit: My-quotes.

Leave a Reply

